Navagraha Puja


Lord Shiva is the transformer in the Holy Trinity - Tridev. His importance and stories are spread far and wide. His rage against injustice is equally famous. And out of this rage, at some point, were born nine celestial bodies which are now commonly known as ‘Navagraha’. These Navagraha or ‘Nine Planets’ are cosmically connected to our horoscopes and are known to affect us either positively or negatively. The Navagraha comprise of Surya, Chandra, Mangal, Buddh, Guru, Shukra, Shani, Rahu and Ketu. The Navagraha Puja is carried out to increase the positive effects and diminish the negative energies in an individual’s life.

Importance and Significance of Navagraha Puja

There are many instances in life when we are stuck or in trouble. More often than not these bad phases in life are evident in our horoscopes. It is the movement and positions of these Navagrahas that seriously change the course of our lives. Each of these Navagrahas is said to represent a different aspect of our life and the planetary movement can accordingly affect it.

The Sun represents the ‘Father’; also known as soul, king or the enlightened one. The Moon represents the ‘Mother’: also refers to as the mind or the queen. Mangal or Mars is symbolic of confidence, high energy and ego. Buddh or Mercury represents Communication. Guru or Jupiter symbolizes a Guru i.e. a highly esteemed teacher. Venus or Shukra, a more feminine planet, is symbolic of reproduction, pleasure and wealth. Shani or Saturn holds importance for education and career. Rahu is considered to be a mischievous planet, because he is an Asura i.e. demon. He is known infamously to plunge normal lives into chaos. Ketu symbolizes supernatural influences.

These ill–effects of adverse planetary movement can result in anything. It could be a period of financial loss, or a bad relationship, deteriorating health etc. To reduce, if not reverse, the ill-effects of these ill-fated periods, a Navagraha Puja can be performed to appease each of these nine celestial bodies.

Benefits of Navagraha Puja

Most areas of our lives are defined by the placement and movement of the Navagrahas. The effects can be good as well as bad. If it is the latter then chanting the Navagraha Mantras and doing the Navagraha Puja can bring tremendous positive energy through vibrations. This Puja is considered as one of the best and the most powerful tools for pacifying the more enraged planets. The malefic outcomes can be reduced if the Puja is done with utmost sincerity.

  • While discussing the benefits of Navagraha Puja, one should also bear in mind what, the great Lord Vishnu is believed to have stated According to him,“The One who worships the Navagraha with pure faith and sincere adherence to all its rituals shall attain all the four Purusharth – Dharma, Artha, Kaam and Moksha”.
  • The ill-effects of the Navagrahas in the horoscopes are known as ‘Doshas’. The Navagraha Puja helps in the removal of these Doshas.
  • This Puja also enhances the power of the benevolent planets; thus removing the hurdles and obstacles from all spheres of our lives.
  • Ultimately, this leads to a person being blessed with love, joy, happiness and success in all areas of life.

Hence this Puja is highly recommended for all those people who are undergoing some major issues in their lives.

History & Stories

Traces of the Mantra were first found in the Rig Veda. Subsequently, the mantra was also mentioned in the Yajur Veda and Atharva Veda. Many mythological incidents have been attached to the Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra.

This mantra was once a secret mantra which only Rushi Markandeya knew. Once Prajapati Daksha (Sati’s father), cursed Chandra, the moon. Chandra was suffering from the ill-effects of the curse when Rushi Markandeya gave this mantra to Sati to give it to Chandra. By doing the Jaap, Chandra felt the effects of the curse slowing down. For further protection, Lord Shiva placed Chandra on his head. Since then the crescent moon adorns Shiva’s hair.

Another story behind the Maha Mrityunjaya states that it was known as Bija mantra that was given by Lord Shiva himself to Sage Shukracharya because the latter had completed a very exhausting period of austerity. The mantra was later passed on from Sage Shukracharya to Rushi Dadichi Maharaj to King Kshuva via whom it ultimately became a part of the Shiva Purana.

Occasions to do a Navagraha Puja

Navagraha Puja is one of those amazing Pujas that can be done at any time and on any number of times in our lives. A Navagraha Puja is commonly done in conjunction with many other Pujas like Graha Shanti Puja, Vastu Shanti Puja or Satyanarayan Puja. It can be easily considered as a Cleansing Ritual. General occasions when Navagraha Puja can be done are

  • It can be performed before and after a marriage
  • While buying a Property.
  • If undergoing Medical issues.
  • If going through business or financial troubles.
  • During phases of disharmony or mental disturbances.

Navagraha Puja Vidhi (Procedure)

This mantra is easily accessible to every human being on this planet. One simply needs complete conviction, faith and devotion while chanting. Believe that the mantra will work for you.

  • The core of the Navagraha Puja is the Navagraha Yantra.
  • Other samagri for Navagraha puja includes ghee lamps, oil lamps, flowers, turmeric, kumkum, camphor, coconuts, fruits, rice grains, supari (betel nuts), Panchamrut (a mixture of milk, ghee, honey/sugar, curd and Tulsi leaves), sweets, etc. for the Havan Kund.
  • The Kalash is an important part of the Navagraha Puja.
  • Place a handful of grains and place a copper lota on it. Fill the Kalash - lota with water, holy water (Gangajal), akshata (rice grains), a betel nut and coins.
  • Place a red cloth around the lota. Place 5 mango leaves on the opening of the lota and secure them by placing a coconut over it in a way that it completely covers the opening.
  • The procedure is fairly simple. Each planet has its own mantra.
  • The yantra is symbolic of the Navagrahas.
  • People offer flowers, kumkum¸ rice, sweets, coconuts and fruits to all the nine planets.
  • While the offerings are made people should chant the respective mantras 108 times each.
  • The Puja has to be concluded with the Yagna (Hom i.e. the fire ritual).

Navagraha Puja Muhurat

The Muhurat (day, date and time) has to be decided by the Pandit. He bases this on the horoscope of the person for whom the Puja has to be performed. This is done so as to reap the maximum benefits.

Navagraha Puja Mantra

Every day of the week represents a respective Graha; for instance Surya mantra is to be said on Sunday.

  • Surya Mantra: Om Hram Hreem Hroum Sah Suryaya Namaha
  • Chandra Mantra: Om Shram Sreem Shraum Sah Chandraya Namaha
  • Mangal Mantra: Om Kram Kreem Kroum Sah Bhaumaya Namaha
  • Buddh Mantra: Om Bram Breem Broum Sah Budhaya Namaha
  • Guru Mantra: Om Jhram Jhreem Jroum Sah Gurave Namaha
  • Shukra Mantra: Om Dram Dreem Droum Sah Shukraya Namaha
  • Shani Mantra: Om Pram Preem Proum Sah Shanaischaraya Namaha
  • Rahu Mantra: Om Bhram Bhreem Bhroum Sah Rahave Namaha
  • Ketu Mantra: Om Shram Shreem Shroum Sah Ketave Namaha

Client's Speak


Spreading Hinduism Across India:

Agra | Ahemdabad | Bangalore | Bhopal | Chandigarh | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi/NCR | Gaya | Goa | Gurgaon | Hyderabad | Indore | Jaipur | Kolkata | Lucknow | Mumbai | Mysore | Nagpur | Patna | Pune | Surat | Ujjain | Varanasi | Vishakhapatnam